Skip to content

2013, Missing in action

10/01/2014

Happy new year for 2014.

Yes, that’s right, I was missing for most of 2012 and 2013.  I was still partially running 2012 and did two races in 2013.

I had an injury, which started when I was training for half-marathon on 2012. After a long run of around 23 Kms, I got home to untie my laces, and I couldn’t get back up.  My back was stuck.  And it did scare me.  It felt like I was a very old person with a back problem.  Never happened to me before!

I slowly tried hinging myself back upright and shuffled myself to sit.  I ignored it, thinking its just normal.  I kept running and racing, but the back pain is still lingering or getting worse.  Would move on my hips and flexors.  It was bad.

October 2012, that’s when I thought I should do something about it.  And seeked medical advice.  I went to a Chiropractor where I have spent time and money for a year and 3 months, and it was not getting better.  During that duration, they sent me for an MRI, where my MRI did not show anything at all.  on that 15th month, I was told that its a chronic back issue.  I was told to stop running for 3 months, walking and swimming allowed.  Exercise bike was allowed but it did aggravate pain.  It was frustrating.

I changed shoes, which hurt my feet which I kept running with until a month ago and I decided to stop.

I went to deep tissue massages, naturapath who did acupuncture on me and Physio treatments.  Nothing helped.  And I wasn’t running at all.  I was told to get an orthotics which did not help either.

I changed Chiropractors, I was sent to do some contrast MRI, where they inject contrast dye to the suspected region, so they did stick a very long needle on my right hip.  Nothing showed except for a left on my right femur.  So my history and condition, very less can be done.

So after one year and and half, I decided to go back running… slowly, shorter distances. Not pushing myself, on easy pace.  And so I’ve started running again September of  2013.  I am back running Tuesdays mostly 7Km my favorite Bay Run, Thursdays with my running club Woodstock Runners’s Interval sessions and its Saturday training runs.  So far so good.  I’ve noticed that when I push myself on interval trainings, my hips go.  So stopped pushing myself.

Ive started going back to Yoga, and weight training.  And i’ve started enjoying wall climbing at least once a week, which I think have helped strengthen my core.

2013 taught me a lot of things. Although I was frustrated, I let go of the feeling and learned to accept that its not all competition and going fast always.  It taught me to be patient and understanding and appreciate running even more.

At the moment, compared to 2 years ago, it doesn’t bother me if I am slow.  The important thing is I am back running and doing exercise.  I think not able to do any physical exercise is getting me mentally injured than anything else.

I knew that in 2013, I decided not to race at all,  (in exception of Newcastle Park run – when I visited a good friend Nita and Cooks River Fun Run – in support of the local FR).  I saved money from all the used to be registration money on races and traveled.

With Pulse Performance mates, look how unfit I look like huh??

Newcastle Park Run with Nita and friend

I traveled to South Australia – Adelaide and Kangaroo Island and its surrounds.  Went to New Zealand and first time to Main land USA, where I got to visit my relatives I haven’t seen for 20+ years.  Visited 8 states.

I became a Level 2 Australian Accredited Athletics and recreational running coach.  And was happy to volunteer most of the time timing or coaching or assisting with the club training runs.  Also, if I wasn’t the uniform’s officer, I would have not made an effort to go and participate with the club activities.  It was good to be a part of the committee.

I decided to take Masterals in Uni.  I got my Australian citizenship.  I moved apartments.  I moved on from a relationship.

I learned to wall climb better, and slowly liking swimming.

2013 wasn’t a bad year at all even without the racing.  The injury did teach me a lot of things.

2014 will be a better year, and i’d be smarter, maybe do few short … really short distance running, and park runs.  Watch my space for 2014!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/01/2014 9:10 am

    Happy new year to you too!

    • witchkitty permalink*
      10/01/2014 9:32 am

      Thank you! and tO YOU TOO! 🙂

  2. 11/01/2014 10:05 pm

    very very
    nice thank you ,

    ehab 🙂

    good luck ,,,,,,,

Leave a comment