Skip to content

What’s all this hate with runners & other fitness enthusiasts?

26/02/2012

I know I haven’t been doing my race reports lately! So SLAACK! don’t worry at least I wasn’t slacking off from the running :).  That’s still a good thing.

Anyway before I update and go back on the recent races even from last year, I’ve been wanting to write about a piece yesterday about people hating runners.

Oh not just that, a year ago I was cut to see a comment saying in someone’s blog, “you do not have to post your time and place and rub it in, how you went on your race.”  Who knows who’s that for, but I was cut.  But I shouldn’t care and get affected if it isn’t true.  But it is true.  I post my race accomplishments AND failures.  I can not imagine why some people drag you down.  Is it jealousy?

Then last Friday, I was talking to Tez and he says’ whoa, you did a lot of workout today, talking about my boot-camp session.  And he jokingly said I do not need to brag what workout I’ve done.  I know he is just joking, but it wasn’t even meant to brag and tell people I am better than you!  All the FB posts I write was meant to inspire and get people moving.  I’m little, I’m short, I was sickly, I am/was a foreigner in another country I can do things that makes me happy.  If I can do it, I know other people can too.

Now its not just even that, I read other bloggers, non-runners hating runners, people hating cyclists, running-shoe wearers hating barefoot runners, Crossfit enthusiasts hating belittling runners, or elite runners hating hobby runners.  This haters say we do not have to wear how much kilometers we’ve done on the number plates, on shirts, on bumper or car stickers, etc.

I was first affected reading one of the blogs but I am not really stressing about it.  So why am I writing about it, because it is just sad why people hate so much.  Why can’t they just say “good on you, do what makes you happy.”  Or maybe shut up? Because the people doing fitness is not killing the hater in anyway whenever they are doing their fitness so why do people have to make big fuss about it? Why can’t other people let other people be and more open minded and not judgmental.  It’s not bragging if one can back it up, if he is really good on that so let him be, be happy for him/her.

You do not have to hate the fitness enthusiasts.  If you are sick reading our blogs, our status messages, the message is not intended for you.  The audience is meant for other fitness enthusiasts.  We have freedom to choose, and we choose to be fit and healthy.  If you choose not to live healthy, then shut up and don’t drag other people down to where you are.

You do not even know some of this runners/athlete’s story.  Some of them were ex-drug addicts, ex-heavy smokers, abused etc, and the running,cycling, swimming was an activity that healed them and they are so happy everyday to share other people their happiness.  Yea fine, okey its freedom of speech you can complain about our status messages, our race reports, and yes same with me, its freedom of speech that I can write what makes me happy, I do not see how my write-ups can affect one negatively? Again we do not have any right to judge some and think someone as “attention whore” or a brag.

And I opt not to refer to the blogs of the haters because their negativity is not worth sharing.

I leave you with something, my mom always reminds me always when I was younger, “A tree gets stoned so much because it bears so much fruit.” (Ang punong hitik sa bunga ay laging binabato).

20 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/03/2012 5:19 pm

    Nice post I’m impressed, Actually rarely do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining. Cheers from Sweden!

  2. 07/03/2012 11:58 pm

    Most people use nike air shoe for running. There are very comfotable

  3. 12/03/2012 9:18 am

    Nice post! i love it.

  4. 22/03/2012 12:29 am

    I just looked at your website and I am really enjoying your watercolors. It is really fun to see where you are going with this and I hope it really takes up. Definitely keep me updated-I look forward to seeing more

  5. 25/03/2012 5:06 pm

    Whoever said this “A tree gets stoned so much because it bears so much fruit”, is simply a very sensible person. I really like to thank her for this line

  6. 27/03/2012 1:23 am

    I believe there’s definitely a subculture of runners and fitness enthusiasts who love to share their times and workouts and use them as encouragement for themselves and others. I’m part of that group, and find your updates totally motivating!

    The others are just outsiders who, instead of joining us, get defensive because they don’t have the desire to accomplish their fitness goals.

  7. 03/04/2012 7:40 am

    There’s nothing wrong with posting your accomplishments, so long as you aren’t doing so to rub it in someone’s face. If you are good at something, you should be proud of it. Telling people about it in a blog or on Facebook or Twitter isn’t a bad thing. Getting angry enough about people stating accomplishments to start a counter blog against what someone else likes to do… THAT is a bad thing.

  8. 11/04/2012 2:44 am

    Owo . Full of general knowledge. I enjoyed your writing. Thanks

  9. 06/06/2012 6:38 pm

    Nice one. Loved the flow of the article 🙂

  10. 27/07/2012 8:44 am

    There will always be haters. The only people who will get angry about a runner posting their accomplishments are envious people.

  11. 05/04/2013 10:59 pm

    fitness can only be good for you and i don’t understand how can someone criticize fitness fans!I really enjoy reading athletes stories it really motivates me to do more for myself

  12. 06/04/2013 11:57 pm

    Doers do and Talkers talk – thats why i don’t like people spamming facebook with “I’ve walked 10 miles today” and stuff like that.
    Just Run and Enjoy!

  13. 15/05/2013 5:03 am

    I try to appreciate how everyone has different goals and aspirations. I enjoy running outside a lot and am really happy the weather is finally here for it!

  14. 17/05/2013 9:23 pm

    I hate the haters who do it your face. A car drove past and threw a big mac in my face as I was road running last week. Idiots.

  15. 14/07/2013 6:34 am

    Nike is the best shoe for running and basketball!!

  16. 26/07/2013 5:44 pm

    Nice one. Loved the flow of the article

  17. 29/07/2013 4:07 am

    I personally like hearing peoples fitness stories. I find I learn new information that could help me out with my goals. and if they are willing to answer any of my questions even better.

  18. 07/08/2013 12:34 pm

    Haters gonna hate — what I feel like when people look at me when I’m running in my Vibrams!

  19. 16/08/2013 1:22 am

    Very impressive post! I agree with previous person – there will always be haters. People are different, no matter what kind of hobby they have.

  20. 25/09/2013 11:28 am

    I do not understand this hate too…

Leave a Reply

