Skip to content

Thank you 2011 – Hello 2012!

01/01/2012

I know I havent posted all my race reports for 2011 yet, but I got caught up with the time and 2011 is almost over or it already over back in my 2nd home in Sydney, I’d like to do my year-end recap.

In 2011 there are lots of things i am thankful and appreciative of in terms of my fitness.
This is also a excerpt from my Letter from the Editor I wrote for the Woodstock Runner’s Newsletter, the Rundown.

– I have learned a lot of things in my running life, aside from being quicker, attitude has changed
Less does not mean more.  On 2010 I run 4-5 times a week, while this year I have only been running 3 to 4 times a week
Lowering my expectations.  I don’t stress and get frustrated too much anymore when I don’t finish the race on a time I wanted.  I have missed few races but I was not worried about it. 🙂
Cross Training.  In between training runs, I’ve been doing boxing, weights, swimming, yoga, circuit and boot camp which helped my core and gained upper body strength.  If my legs get tired and can’t go on anymore, can’t believe the wonders of  having a stronger upper body helps you cross the finish line
Discovering the nutritional diet that works for me.  From a result of leaving my energy gels by accident on one of the half-marathon race, I discovered I can go the distance without it.  From that time on I can survive running longer runs, as long as I ate carbohydrates and protein and hydrate properly before a long run.  I have not been drinking energy drinks at all anymore before races!
Change of scenery.  I discovered the fun in running the trail.  I maybe slower in times, but the satisfaction of being closer to the nature is “relaxing”  compared to running on the roads.
Its not all about the legs and speed. Joining adventure races reminds me that running is just part of a race.  Using your brain, your upper body strength, having fun, and using your other skills also is important.
Minimalist footwear works for me. Years after experimenting what shoes works for me, although I overpronate and I am prescribed to have orthotics, I went back looking for the shoes that I was comfortable and injury free years ago, incorporating the use of mimicking running barefoot seem to have strengthened my Achilles and calves.  So did it changed my running form and strides.

Highlights
– I started my New Year’s running life with a Half Marathon in my home country – Philippines in Cebu, and I’ve done Halves for 2011, which I am happy.  I decided not to run a Marathon in 2011.
– 38 races
– 8 Half Marathon
– 25 Kms is my longest race
– New race terrains/ discipline – Trail, adventure race, improved my softsand running
– No major injuries
– Learned to love and embrace to commute to work by running
– 15 total PBs and course PBs
– broke my 4, 5, 7, 8, 10- Kms, City2Surf, Soft Sand Personal and my Half-Marathon records
Personal – my Permanent Residency status in Australia!!

Lowlights
– minor injury on right foot
– 1 DNS due to flat tire
Personal. Grandma father’s side’s death 😦 Lola Taleng, you will be missed!!

For 2012 I wish for the following
– No injury
– To be healthy and fit and stronger
– To inspire more people to be healthier and fitter
– Be better in other discipline I just learned – Soft Sand and Trail running, Boxing, Crossfit and Yoga.  And be better Road races.
onelifecat takes off and be better again   on 2012
Personal – Healthy family members and people I care about, to always keep a job, and have balanced and healthy lifestyle, be rich in loved ones, health, friends, in treasure and lots of positive energy and able to travel – O/S work and leisure, and locally in Oz.

I realized that not all we read in books and prescribed by sports doctors is best for you.  What works for one does not apply to all.

I wish that the wisdom I learned from running this year helps me more grow better as a runner in the continuing year, and I wish everyone the same.

I wish everybody a Prosperous New Year !!

Bring it on 2012!!!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/01/2012 8:45 am

    Just ran my first half in September in Bellingham WA. Was by far the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life and I am prob going to try to do another one here in 2012. The problem was however that after my half, my knee became incredibly sore – and it still is. To the point I can’t play soccer right now. Do you have any advice for something like this? Is this normal? I didn’t do anything after accept have a beer and lie on the couch for 4 hours. Thanks for your response.
    -Briddick

  2. 26/01/2012 8:26 pm

    “To be healthy and fit and stronger” that sounds like a good wish for 2012 to me! Great article – I really need to get in shape as well

  3. 08/02/2012 3:30 pm

    How many marathons have you run in your life ?

  4. 17/02/2012 1:40 am

    Next on my list is a marathon. I’ve managed to make exercise part of my life for the last several years. I play basketball, softball, run around with my kids. I’ve exercised better eating habits as well. Making time for a marathon here and there would be challenging and fun.

Leave a Reply

