Skip to content

Unplanned training run up the mountains

15/11/2011

Tezza had to do some work for our friend Brendan and Nadine up the blue mountains and he wants me to come with him.  Planning to come back the same day on that Saturday, but we end up hanging out with Brendan and told us he knows a flat course appropriate for my plan to do the 18Km.  Did not do any races that week and skipped and boycotted Run4Fun by Fairfax because I find it too commercialized, and wasn’t able to do the Spring series because we needed to be travelling to Brendan’s on that day.

On that Sunday, Brendan took us to the the Faulco Point.  And oh boy, I forgot, I should have taken Bren’s perspective oof easy and flat! It was not flat at all on my point of view :P.  It was undulating trail track.  Although it was pleasant 6Kms and bit of struggle on some “hills” I feel sorry for Brendan having to do the walk and stop with us who are not as fit and strong as him, It ws a good reward at th turnaround point.  And pleased with myself despite the walk up a hill, I managed to get to the turn around point before the Mountain bikers we passed and passed us along the way.

Going back was hot dry and hot and hard :P.  We left Tezza on his own and continued running.  As we reached 9Km I told Brendan, might cut the distance to 16 instead, I don’t think I can make it all at the 18Km.  And just hundred meters after me saying that, I told him, I think I will just do the 12ish, as I wasn’t feeling good at all with the heat and told him to just run ahead of me, and so he did ran to the start and back to get Tezza! What a champ.

I reached the finish/start, feeling guilty, knowing they will be back later yet, I decided to run further and end up doing another kilometer or so to add up on my mileage.  It was all good fun that weekend, although I failed to do my planned long run, I am happy I did a run with Bren which is very rare occassion to run with someone who is quick, shared me some tips like running with the stick, told me he can see I improved my cadence and running style, and just neede more practice on lots of hills!  One day, I hope I can also say that course we ran is flat.

To cool down the activity, we did a trek down to find the “Paradise” pool up the mountains, after a tour of his neighborhood pool the day before the trail run.

Nature spa!

The Paradise - undisclosed location 😉

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/11/2011 8:43 pm

    Lovely to spend the weekend with you guys. Garden looks great now!

    Sorry about the ‘flat’ course! But that is as flat as it gets up here!

    and what about Paradise! What a find!

    Haha that’s okey, I knew it was going to be that way, it was still fun just bit hot and dry that day otherwise i wouldn’t do a shortcut. and yes to the Paradise!

  2. 16/11/2011 7:39 pm

    Your track definitely doesn´t look very flat 🙂 I wish I could do the 18 km mileage on a real flat run. you must be addicted to torture 🙂

  3. 27/11/2011 2:38 pm

    Looks as if you had a great time. I envy your weather, miserable in Canada now.

Leave a Reply

