Skip to content

Sri Chinmoy Series: Centennial Park (Dec 2010)

24/01/2011

Last December 12, we arranged with Angela we are hitching ride with her for the Sri Chinmoy Series’ last run for the year in the Centennial Park.

Angela’s doing the 4KM, Tezza the 8KM and i did the 12KM. We arrived at the venue early, enough time to warm up, go to the toilet and stretch.

The longer distance goes first, where we do two laps of the course.  I deceided to run with my VFF Sprints since the course is a cross-country and i have ran it twice knowing its going to be sand, grass, gravel, and dirt, i will be fine.

This will be the longest distance race I will be running with my VFF Sprints.

So off we go at 8am.  I was behind two filo females and I thought i would just take it easy as i do not know or haven’t guaged how it is to run in the sprints in this distance.  The longest distance I have ran in a training is 11Km and that’s just it.

There were lots of water in the drinking station, unlike the last one.  The weather is a bit muggy but tolerable.

Although there was a part in the run where here were no arrows and no marshals, I followed another runner go of course for about 5 meters until another runner called out we were going the wrong way.

Pebbles! At the dirt bit, a pebble or two got into my left shoe and I ignored it hoping it will just go away and find its way out of the foot gear.  But it started to annoy me that i have to stop 3-4 times.  First two stope i tried to push it at the sole of the shoe but it just annoyed me more and the other pebble hurt me and cat my left foot’s thumb that I have to stop and remove my shoes and shake it off.  Annoying coz I was losing time and wearing it back it was even more difficult from the sweat.. eewwe.  After that I tried to gain back my position and about 4 females caught up to me and overtook me but I overtook two of them. It was getting difficult on the last 3 Kms.  All I can think of is finish the race.

I was getting slower but there was no walking involved as I already slowed down from removing those pebbles off my shoes!

I was happy to see the finish line, hearing Tezza cheer me on.  Slowest 14Km ever.  Slower than my C2S.  Must be the shoes, or the pebbles and the weather? I am not sure, but I was happy to finish 🙂 and run the longest distance on my VFF sprints.

Event: Sri Chinmoy, Centennial Park, NSW
Distance: 14KM
Time: 1:15:31

Results
Photos

Sri Chinmoy centennial park
Last December 12, we arranged with Angela we are hitching ride with her for the Sri Chinmoy Series’ last run for the year in the Centennial Park.

Angela’s doing the 4KM, Tezza the 8KM and i did the 12KM. We arrived at the venue early, enough time to warm up, go to the toilet and stretch.

The longer distance goes first, where we do two laps of the course.  I deceided to run with my VFF Sprints since the course is a cross-country and i have ran it twice knowing its going to be sand, grass, gravel, and dirt, i will be fine.

This will be the longest distance race I will be running with my VFF Sprints.

So off we go at 8am.  I was behind two filo females and I thought i would just take it easy as i do not know or haven’t guaged how it is to run in the sprints in this distance.  The longest distance I have ran in a training is 11Km and that’s just it.

There were lots of water in the drinking station, unlike the last one.  The weather is a bit muggy but tolerable.

Although there was a part in the run where here were no arrows and no marshals, I followed another runner go of course for about 5 meters until another runner called out we were going the wrong way.

Pebbles.  At the dirt bit, a pebble or two got into my left shoe and I ignored it hoping it will just go away and find its way out of the foot gear.  But it started to annoy me that i have to stop 3-4 times.  First two stope i tried to push it at the sole of the shoe but it just annoyed me more and the other pebble hurt me and cat my left foot’s thumb that I have to stop and remove my shoes and shake it off.  Annoying coz I was losing time and wearing it back it was even more difficult from the sweat.. eewwe.  After that I tried to gain back my position.

about 4 females caught up to me and overtook me but I overtook two of them.

It was getting difficult on the last 3 Kms.  All I can think of is finish the race.

I was getting slower but there was no walking involved as I already slowed down from removing those pebbles off my shoes!

I was happy to see the finish line, hearing Tezza cheer me on.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

