Skip to content

HOT HOT HOT Fisher’s Ghost Fun Run

17/11/2010

This is the 3rd year I am running this fun run.   It’s not one of the easiest fun run as it involves hills amongst the campus of University of Sydney at Campbelltown campus on November 14, 2011.

It was hot the Saturday before that and it has been forecasted to have the same of hotter temperature on the fun run day at 34 degrees heat in the west.  We drove to Angela’s place for a car pool on our way to Campbelltown.  Got our bibs and free shirts.  And took our time going to the loo, stretching and warming up.  I always join this race for the Woodstock teams females, where we won 2 years ago when I first ran the course.

It was a hard late start at 8:30am and we were warned of the weather conditions of dehydration and heat ehaustion might happen and to keep ourselves hydrated during the run.  The organizers provided water stations every 2 Kms to prevent any dehydration happening.  SInce I know the course is not that easy, and taking into consideration the weather, I did not want to burn myself out at the end of the race.  I wished I should have joined 5Km instead as soon as we reached the 3Km marker.  It was sooooooooooo hot.  Dry Hot and half humid.  1st lap were negative splits for expected 5:35 min/km and no walking involved.  But wait till i was in the 2nd lap.

Mr Sun prevailbed and won the battle.  I walked seconds on 2 or 3 hills, and dousing myself with water.  I always get two cups, one for drinking and one to pour over myself.  And I end up having very wet shoes!  I reached 8 Km and I passed one female who was wearing a singlet representing their fitness gym who prior overtook me in the first lap so I am happy with that.  Although two older women passed me, all my objective is finish the run.  I held on on the last two kilometers.  I saw Theresa a minute behind me and I thought I should not be bludging.  I saw Terry and Angela walking already.

Female runner 2

At that last two kilometers i was holding on, did not want to burn myself and walk at the finish so ikept a constant pace.  Female runner number 2 paced and conversed with me for few minutes admiring my start and strides, but then shame she left me after few minutes and I ate her dust!  50 meters to finish I saw the older female runner number 1 whom passed me earlier on the race, and I was able to overtake her before the finish line.

Never was I was so glad to cross the finish line and I dashed to the shade.  I was drenched with sweat and water.  It was the hottttttttesssssssstttt run ever! does not even beat my runs in Manila! gee.  I finished still under 1 hours so I am happy with that with the heat and the hills I am contented, 54:29 .  Well what can I say? My times are getting slower and slower on this fisher’s ghost fun runs!

Event: Fisher’s Ghost Fun Run
Location: Campbelltown, NSW
Distance: 10Km
Time: 54:29

Results
Photos

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 19/11/2010 8:21 am

    Well done, the heat sounds miserable, although from where I am I think I could stand it. 4 degrees for us on our run today ( Canada ) a nice temperature but we will soon be crying for some warmth.

  2. 22/11/2010 7:35 pm

    Good for you that you made it!! If it was me, I would pass out after 15mins of sun heat..

  3. 09/02/2011 4:59 am

    Really sporty info about Hot fisher’s Ghost Fun Run. Wished to say that I have really enjoyed reading through your blog posts. You know how to illustrate your point well. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

