Skip to content

Book Review: The Barefoot Running Book

18/06/2010

Surprised, out of the blue, first time ever someone asked me to review their product.  I am honored when Jason Robillard of Barefoot Running University emailed and asking me for a book review.  So after a little of just 2 weeks I received the book.

Being a novice minimalist-shoe runner of roughly 5-6 months now, I suppose I can relate and give my opinion on this book.

Thickness: 61 Pages.  Good for someone like me who has short attention span and for people who do not have much time in the world to sit down and read information on running barefoot.  I finished it in an hour and a half.

Cover: Very different from other running books.  It doesn’t even give you a hint that its a running book.

Contents: Short and informative for starting/beginner barefoot runners.  Nothing very technical/medical terms of just like of what you see in Google.  Lay man terms are used for even non-running people and it is good that a terminology has been included.

Its a digest of writings of common-sense from an experienced barefoot runner.  Something you can not read on running books unless is written by a barefoot runner himself.  To support the how’s in the book, excercises and drils have been provided for the barefoot beginner.

I like how he emphasizes the point that what works for one doesn’t apply to all and the caution of using common sense and checking with any medical expert before the barefoot running.  That is very responsible writing.

I recommend it for someone who is wanting and thinking and having Q?s on how and the right way to run barefoot.

It lacks: Diagrams, Photos, drawings and pictures being it as an instruction book, you will need to have a good imagination.  But I like his use of Icons to make a point, or emphasize sections.

Price: 14.95, Just right.

Rating: 7.5/10.

You can buy the book at: Amazon

One Comment leave one →
  1. Neva permalink
    09/07/2010 9:01 pm

    I have never tried running barefut (I am not actually a great runner:)))
    Do you think it book will be informative for me?

    Hi Neva, Yes this will be good for first timer or runner-want-to-try barefoot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

