Skip to content

Book Review: What I Talk About When I Talk About Running

15/04/2010

Third book about running read in more than 2 months while I am not running because of an injury, What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami.

I saw this book at the book shop but it did not appeal me at first, no until I saw a review from RunningDiva.  She enjoyed it so I thought might be worth a read.  So I searched for it in ebay since  I do not mind bout 2nd hand books and its cheaper :).

Murakami is like a runner/triathlete blogger who talked about his training, his races, his life, his preparations, his fears, his frustrations and opinions or think balloons while he is out running.  He narrates stories like you are beside him or like he is talking to you like another running mate. Entertaining book.  It’s okey.

Excerpts I like: “Lots of people know how to swim, but those who teach you how to efficiently swim are few and far between….there are teachers who can teach a subject, in a set order, using predetermined phrases, but there aren’t many who can adjust their teaching to the abilities and tendencies of their pupils …”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

