Skip to content

I Can Run Again!

15/02/2010

Last week was my 4th week of visit to the Physio, and 5th week from that major ankle sprain.

So how is my ankle?
More strengthening excercises for the ankle.
3rd week
1. Pillow balance – Affected single leg balance while catching a ball by bouncing it towards you (2-3 minutes)
4th Week: Still wearing the compression bandage, I was told I am far getting better.  New additional strengthening excercises are given
1. Wobble Cushion – Just like how the pillow balance works, this is more difficult (2-3 minutes)

3. Jog in position in a mini trampoline (2-3 minutes)

Good news?
I CAN RUN AGAIN!!

I am told that I can slowly build up my distance.  I have been running 5 minutes on a threadmill more than 5Min/km so I can build up from 1 Km to 3 KM to 4 KM :)!!
I ran my first 3KM and it was different.  Wearing my Vibram Five Fingers outdoor for the first time it felt great but I am getting use to the cardio back again.
I am hoping to increase my mileage this week to 3.3, hopefully next week a 4 KM a day.

As this was how my pas month and February look on my running days.  Not looking promising for a marathon prep isnt it? Glad I haven’t signed up!


Wish me luck.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/02/2010 2:09 am

    Congrats on the green light to resume running. Good luck on the build up.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

    Thanks Rundad! You have a good site 🙂

  2. 15/02/2010 10:17 am

    my ankle has always been my problem. glad you’re on your way to recovery. cool calendar! where’s you get it? =)

    Thanks hotlegs! Maybe you are wearing wrong shoes? and need to fix running form? how you land and stride? Calendar is from my MapmyTri profile.

Leave a Reply

