Skip to content

Part 1 Mcleay River Marathon: Confused and praying for a luck

08/06/2009

Six Weeks after my first Marathon in Canberra, I can not believe myself that I ran another Marathon.  Call me crazy, yes I think I was.

Before Canberra Marathon. I was thinking of doing Mcleay River Marathon instead being talked by Brendan that it is much easier for a first-time Marathoner.

He says it is “flat as a pancake.”  I was thinking actally, but I thought I ready for Canberra and Mcleay River Marathon is a bit late for me on my training.

Sure does, training wise, I did good training for Marathon with later daylight until 9 PM after work, but not this Autumn and winter coming and early dark times, I can not run longer distances after work.

Just like weeks before Canberra and weeks even I started my First marathon, i was thinking about River Mcleay Marathon instead.  So I haven’t took that idea off my mind anyways.

I was considering doing at least doing the half marathon and it was a long weekend getaway and Woodstock mates Brendan and Tony were keen of going up South west Rocks on that weekend and open to giving me a lift and if Terry is keen.  They say that after a marathon, human body recovers fully from the marathon 6 weeks after.  Sure enough, at least I wasn’t pushing enough of the luck of doing too much too soon.

Three weeks before the event, the North east area of Australia got flooded from a massive downpour of rain and storm, which affected this area whcih is hosting the Marathon.  We already booked our accomodation, Bren, Tony, Tez, and me.

Bren emailed the organizer to check if it is still on, and they emailed a day after saying yes.  I haven’t decided what to run yet even.  A half, or a 10Kms.  I keep putting registration off and missed the early bird registration and I don’t care as I do not know what to run!

I just did a Half Marathon 2 weeks before and I was talking to Woodstock mates how Brendan talks to me on doing the full marathon, No way I can do that! I was not doing any long run trainings after Canberra, longest was 16 Kms, 32 Kms every week because I was stuffing my knee for running too much after the Canberra so I don’t think I am even fit and confident to sign myself to do a Marathon.

Less than 2 weeks before the Mcleay , I prayed and ask for a sign, that if my right knees hurts after the race on the Sunday before the long weekend, I am not worthy to run a Marathon, as I will only hurt myself, but If my knees doesn’t hurt at all, means a possibility of Marathon and a 100% of a half Marathon.

Guess what? After Heart of the Lake race in Bankstown, my knees was not hurting, no pains in my legs.  I had the sign to do the marathon or Half.  I was scared for my life as I havent been training!  5 Days before this event I also did a quick 11Kms and I think I did a quick 8 Kms out of 10 Km condition run.  Thursday, we were told by Bren that we still can do the early bird registration for a cheaper fee without the 15dollar on top pf the rego fee.  I tried but It was too late and they closed the early bird so we will have to do registration on the day.  So I still dontget to do the pressure of the longer distance, even if I already did mention to Tez I might do a full Mara because knees was behaving itself.

All I can think of that week is i was looking forward to doig a long weekend getaway as I just finished my on-call duty for weeks, gruelling 2 weeks at work and im so stressed!  Holiday is all I care, thinking and looking forward to! (can you feel how I feel stressed at work?:) )

Then Thursday Night i was already half convinced to do a full But what concrened me, aside from training I wasnt carbo loading whould have been started last Wednesday!  I feel stressed a bit with that.  So Friday Lunch I started eating carbo and more than I should have been eating.  It was a hectic day, having giving a heads up to my Project manager and line manager 3 days before weekend I will be taking a half day compensation day on that long weekend, and Robert, my PM, was worried bout our Techinical support having Nishant my colleague on leave, so I assured them anyway I am bringing my laptop, with and contactable by phone just in case.  Having to rush 3 projects fitting it in a half day testing, and should be home before 4 PMish as we planned to leave after that.  Had to do quick work, tried my best, and went to Rebel Sports in Sydney to get some Gu, got some munchies on my way home for the road trip of 6 hours.

Lucky enough, Brendan had the same day of busy hectic Friday, and he was picking me and Terry after Tony, which happened more than two hours after the planned departure time.

625ish we got picked up by Brendan at Rozelle and our journey to south west rocks started.

So we were renting a house in South west rocks with 4 other mates. We arrived 30 minutes after the first couple, Tom and Anne arrived at 130am we found the place, and we finally found the place.  After chatting and getting to know the new couple, had a couple of drinks, it was late it was 3 am after a drive of 7 hours drive up to South west rocks.  We were glad to see the place it was not flooded anymore and after stopping for an unhealthy tea at Mcdonalds, almost running over a fox and getting stopped by cops to watch out for cows on the road.

We had a few drink and retired to bed at 3 am, not after getting woken up by neighbors at 63o we were all awake and grumpty, tired and sleepy apparently as this neighbor of this vacation house is having a garage sale!

100_4448

Bren's doing a paparazzi on the nossy, noisy neighbors!!

100_4447

Carbo , liquid and salt loading by the time we woke up

Ocean and mountain view from the rented cottage

Ocean and mountain view from the rented cottage

We went to the race expo to do our late registration and pick up the race bibs.

Woodies at the Race Rego

Woodies at the Race Rego

Six Weeks after my first Marathon in Canberra, I can not believe myself that I ran another Marathon.  Call me crazy, yes I think I was.

Before Canberra Marathon. I was thinking of doing Mcleay River Marathon instead being talked by Brendan that it is much easier for a first-time Marathoner.

He says it is “flat as a pancake.”  I was thinking actally, but I thought I ready for Canberra and Mcleay River Marathon is a bit late for me on my training.

Sure does, training wise, I did good training for Marathon with later daylight until 9 PM after work, but not this Autumn and winter coming and early dark times, I can not run longer distances after work.

Just like weeks before Canberra and weeks even I started my First marathon, i was thinking about River Mcleay Marathon instead.  So I haven’t took that idea off my mind anyways.

I was considering doing at least doing the half marathon and it was a long weekend getaway and Woodstock mates Brendan and Tony were keen of going up South west Rocks on that weekend and open to giving me a lift and if Terry is keen.  They say that after a marathon, human body recovers fully from the marathon 6 weeks after.  Sure enough, at least I wasn’t pushing enough of the luck of doing too much too soon.

Three weeks before the event, the North east area of Australia got flooded from a massive downpour of rain and storm, which affected this area whcih is hosting the Marathon.  We already booked our accomodation, Bren, Tony, Tez, and me.

Bren emailed the organizer to check if it is still on, and they emailed a day after saying yes.  I haven’t decided what to run yet even.  A half, or a 10Kms.  I keep putting registration off and missed the early bird registration and I don’t care as I do not know what to run!

I just did a Half Marathon 2 weeks before and I was talking to Woodstock mates how Brendan talks to me on doing the full marathon, No way I can do that! I was not doing any long run trainings after Canberra, longest was 16 Kms, 32 Kms every week because I was stuffing my knee for running too much after the Canberra so I don’t think I am even fit and confident to sign myself to do a Marathon.

Less than 2 weeks before the Mcleay , I prayed and ask for a sign, that if my right knees hurts after the race on the Sunday before the long weekend, I am not worthy to run a Marathon, as I will only hurt myself, but If my knees doesn’t hurt at all, means a possibility of Marathon and a 100% of a half Marathon.

Guess what? After Heart of the Lake race in Bankstown, my knees was not hurting, no pains in my legs.  I had the sign to do the marathon or Half.  I was scared for my life as I havent been training!  5 Days before this event I also did a quick 11Kms and I think I did a quick 8 Kms out of 10 Km condition run.  Thursday, we were told by Bren that we still can do the early bird registration for a cheaper fee without the 15dollar on top pf the rego fee.  I tried but It was too late and they closed the early bird so we will have to do registration on the day.  So I still dontget to do the pressure of the longer distance, even if I already did mention to Tez I might do a full Mara because knees was behaving itself.

All I can think of that week is i was looking forward to doig a long weekend getaway as I just finished my on-call duty for weeks, gruelling 2 weeks at work and im so stressed!  Holiday is all I care, thinking and looking forward to! (can you feel how I feel stressed at work?:) )

Then Thursday Night i was already half convinced to do a full But what concrened me, aside from training I wasnt carbo loading whould have been started last Wednesday!  I feel stressed a bit with that.  So Friday Lunch I started eating carbo and more than I should have been eating.  It was a hectic day, having giving a heads up to my Project manager and line manager 3 days before weekend I will be taking a half day compensation day on that long weekend, and Robert, my PM, was worried bout our Techinical support having Nishant my colleague on leave, so I assured them anyway I am bringing my laptop, with and contactable by phone just in case.  Having to rush 3 projects fitting it in a half day testing, and should be home before 4 PMish as we planned to leave after that.  Had to do quick work, tried my best, and went to Rebel Sports in Sydney to get some Gu, got some munchies on my way home for the road trip of 6 hours.

Lucky enough, Brendan had the same day of busy hectic Friday, and he was picking me and Terry after Tony, which happened more than two hours after the planned departure time.

625ish we got picked up by Brendan at Rozelle and our journey to south west rocks started.

So we were renting a house in South west rocks with 4 other mates. We arrived 30 minutes after the first couple, Tom and Anne arrived at 130am we found the place, and we finally found the place.  After chatting and getting to know the new couple, had a couple of drinks, it was late it was 3 am after a drive of 7 hours drive up to South west rocks.  We were glad to see the place it was not flooded anymore and after stopping for an unhealthy tea at Mcdonalds, almost running over a fox and getting stopped by cops to watch out for cows on the road.

We had a few drink and retired to bed at 3 am, not after getting woken up by neighbors at 63o we were all awake and grumpty, tired and sleepy apparently as this neighbor of this vacation house is having a garage sale!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

