Skip to content

My Christmas gift

26/12/2008

Before I left Sydney I already got my early Christmas for myself. Actually it is half from my boss a little bit from me.

Why is that?

I got this 200AUD gift voucher from our big boss months ago as a thank you incentive gift for doing good work for a project which I havent decided for a long time the smartest thing to spend it on. I was initially planning to get new pair of runners.

Since I had improved greatly on speed i thought of keeping track of my speed and training more so I reckon a sports watch would be a good item to spend on the voucher. It has been going on for months what watch to buy, a Polar, Garmin or Suunto.

I wanted a Garmin but it was not available in any sports shop or any watch shop in shopping centers. Polar and Suunto are the only ones available. I made up my mind I would like to get a Suunto.

But then when I got to Rebel Sports store in Bondi junction, they do not have the footpod! sad to say so the store’s clerk told me he had a Polar and he loves it so i examined it after having him to double check the Suunto and i found out too that it would cost me 300AUD more if I get the Suunto, compared to Polar I would just need to add 120AUD.

So it was final. yes i got myself an early gift of Polar F6. It had its trial on the Central Coast Half Marathon. It had a foot pod for speed and distance and a heart rate monitor.

I haven’t really played with it yet, but I will when I get back running in Oz. I am happy with my gift, after a few tries with this new toy, I will be putting the reviews up in this blog soon.

05012009045

7 Comments leave one →
  1. sundaywarrior permalink
    12/01/2009 2:56 am

    Hi there, how’s the Polar F6 pala, is it advisable than Garmin?

  2. witchkitty permalink*
    12/01/2009 4:24 am

    Hi Sunday Warrior,

    Its in the context that you can be happy with either of them.
    I was told that Polar’s battery do die on shorter time than the Garmin and they do have distance discrepancies.

    They say Polar is more accurate.

    I am not able to find a Garmin locally so I chose Polar, although I think I would still like a Suunto and found out that it has a smaller foot pod than the rest and it does fashionably looks nice.

  3. sundaywarrior permalink
    12/01/2009 9:11 am

    Hey there Ms. Cha thanks for the feedback that’s a nice analysis, at least we’ll have some comparison. Regards.. Btw are you running the Sydney Marathon and when is this pala?

  4. witchkitty permalink*
    12/01/2009 11:20 pm

    NP Sunday Warrior! i am tempted to buy Suunto but i will take time to save again 🙂 then there will be a real time comparison. I am not sure yet of Sydney Marathon, should I miss the initial plan of an easier route on another Marathon i MIGHT do this, but Sydney’s terrain is a bit challenging. This usually happens during September :). Will you be coming to Sydney soon?

  5. sundaywarrior permalink
    14/01/2009 6:02 am

    Yup I’m interested in running the Gold Coast Marathon but will decide after the Manila Marathon here on March. Regards.

  6. witchkitty permalink*
    14/01/2009 6:43 am

    nice! let me know should you be here in NSW 🙂

  7. witchkitty permalink*
    19/01/2009 2:39 am

    I have been running with my polar with the foot pod for 3 weeks now and i notice, that there are times that i think its GPS is not giving me the right distance. Of the same routes on different days, sometimes i get 1++KM short measurement than the actual. 😦

Leave a Reply

