Skip to content

City 2 Surf Race recap

11/08/2008

On an unexpected friends coming over bring alcoholic drinks on a Friday night, I was not able to do an early slow jog with the Woodies on Saturday morning, woke up and did “swim” instead. rehydrated LOTs to make up with the dehyrdation i did on Friday night.

Sunday morning set my alarm at 620am as race starts 9am. Waking to find out to have this nasty back and abdominal pain from dysmenorrhea (why now!). Which was making me think should i go to the race or not contemplating at the bathroom, and decided to just go maybe it will go away, put menthol balm i told myself. Ate my breakfast and was bout by 730 waiting for my bus ride. Surprisingly to find out a lot were waiting for the buses to go to the city and are also doing the City 2 Surf! No buses arrived so one by one we did share a taxi with these City 2 Surf strangers :), which i am grateful.

Arrived at the race area, dropped my bag, took off my jumper, and waited at the green forecourt area(2nd batch of runners, those who did a 75 -100 mins from last C2S, dont ask me how i got to get there and it was my first c2s πŸ˜‰ ) forecourt area. Oh how enviuos I am with those wearing the red bibs ( less or equal to 74.59)!! We were followed by the blue bibs and the yellow bibs

So the 2nd gunstart went off, that was us, it was a slow walk for few meters trying to get through all the runners, then jog then run. It was challenging to get pass the crowd and runners ahead of you and you have to be careful not to get tripped over. Squeezing myself with runners, and i mean squeeze, hitting elbow to elbow literally no exaggeration! This is the only race i saw in my running “career” so well participated and the crowd would not just disperse as the length of the race progress. It is just too crowded!! Imagine 70,000 runners doing the race! Its a good thing that encourages and motivates you to keep on running thinking you have to overtake this runners and knowing you have someone running with you on the course.

It was a hilly course. The hills just did not stop, i kept on praying for a flat and a downhill after each hill but no. it was only probably at the last 3 kilometers that it was downhill and you start to see the beach! and you know you are almost there. There were no markers how long have you had run, only at the 9km and the start of the heartbreak hill which was the 6th km.

It was a very festive mood, lots of volunteers, lots of water and gatorade along the way, RSVP sponge baths!, expectators came out of their houses cheering for the runners, pubs you pass along way wit their bands, kids/people playing their guitars and bagpipe along the way just keeps you alive and moving. Its just so challenging that there are people who do run so fast so i just kept to thinking and targetting to overtake all Asian female runners i see.

At the last 1 km of the course was also 3/4 uphill and 1/4 downhill that i was not able to do a sprint at the end. I am trying to convince myself that i did okey considering it was my first C2S but it is not good enough fr me! i might have shaved off the 2 mins thinking back if i would have not stopped for drinks, and slowed down on hills. Next year, I swear, I will be targetting to get myself qualified to the red bibbed group. Yes, call me ambisiosa but i would like to get that red bib!

After the race, re-grouped with the Woodies, and went to the pub. Crazy ozzies! You can’t imagine that they would go straight at the pub for drinks after the run, so we did a dehyrdation and carbo loading. I had 5 pints of beer! It was a good mood at the pub wit hthe olympics playing on the screen and the c2s runners, it was a very ozzie, sporty mood. I had fun, even with the not so good timining πŸ˜€

C2smap

Location: Hyde Park to Bondi beach
Distance: 14Km
Time: 78.xx mins (clock time)
Pace: 5.57
(This blog will be updated on Tuesday for pics and exact timing)

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/08/2008 9:48 pm

    We made it! Wow… green start too! I’m so jealous. πŸ˜€ Anyway yeah… I’m hoping for a green start next year but I think we just barely scraped through 100mins…. oh well there’s always next year. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

